THINGS TO SEE
The Kaarikirkko Church, the Orivesi Road Church. Keskustie 17. Built in 1961, designed by Kaija and Heikki Sirén. The altarpiece is Kain Tapper’s Golgatan kallio (“The Golgotha hill”). Enquiries and bookings for a guide, tel. +358 40 8049 600
The Kaarikirkko Church
The Eräjärvi Wooden Church, Eräjärventie 1592. Built in 1821. A church museum. Open on request, tel. +358 40 8049 600
The Längelmäki Church, Längelmäen kirkkotie 565. A Baroque-style wooden church built in 1772. Antti Piimänen, sacristy and the museum part in 1895–1896. A church museum, a granary museum. Open on request, tel. +358 40 8049 600
The Eräjärvi Geological Museum. Eräjärventie 1592. In the Eräjärvi church grounds. A specialty museum built in an old granary, showcasing mineral samples and the history of the stone industry in the region. Houses the largest agate collection in Finland and one of the country’s biggest collections of orbicular granite. Maps on the quarries available for hikers. Open 2017 from 10 June to 5 August Tue–Sun from noon till 5 pm, Mon closed, otherwise open on request. Enquiries +358 400 605 704.
The Paltamäki Local Heritage Museum. Museotie (up the hill next to the ice rink). This charming open-air museum with its windmills and old buildings is located near the centre and surrounded by nature. Also houses an exhibition by the Ylä-Häme Artists' Association. Open 2017 from 6 June to 27 August between 11 am and 4 pm, closed on Mondays. Open for groups on request. Enquiries, tel. +358 400 336 214/Tapio Estola.
The Paltanmäki Local Heritage Museum
A traditional military dugout on the Paltanmäki museum grounds. Enquiries +358 40 748 1887. Guided tours available.
Taitokeskus Orivesi Auvisen talo, Keskustie 37, tel. +358 3 225 1455 and +358 50 433 8681.
Open Mon–Fri 10 am to 5 pm (in summer 9 am to 5 pm), Sat 10 am to 2 pm. A shop selling all kinds of handcrafts and gift items. An exhibition can be found upstairs. Tourist information. Tickets to the Rönni summer theatre. http://www.taitopirkanmaa.fi/epages/taitopirkanmaa.sf/en_GB/?ViewObjectPath=%2FShops%2Fpirkanmaa
Hörtsänä Arboretum, Onnistaipale, Onnisjärventie 11. Guided tours for groups on request, enquiries at the tourist information tel. +358 3 225 1455 and +358 50 433 8681.
Aimo Tukiainen’s Orivarsa in the Central Park, Kenkälintu next to the Town Hall, Keskustie 23 and Kirkonkukot on the Eräjärvi churchyard, Eräjärventie 1592.
The Orivarsa statue
The Leprosy Hospital and Reserve Company memorials near the vocational school in Rovastintie/Ammattikouluntie.
The memorial for the Winter War soldiers, Koulutie 5, in Oriveden Opisto’s yard.
The monument of the Lapland War, Winter War and Continuation War, Urheilutie 3, in front of the Suojan talo building.
The Battle of Orivesi memorial, Asematie 15, in front of the railway station.
Aviation history monument, in the corner of Eräjärventie and Lehtimäentie.
Memorial for Soviet prisoners of war at Eräslahti, Hangastie 93.
The Art Centre Purnu at Pitkäjärvi, Orivesi, Mustasaari 63, since 1967. On the shores of Lake Längelmävesi. 2017 open daily from 18 June to 6 August, 11 am to 6 pm, and for groups on request from 22 May to 27 August, tel. +358 3 335 4323, +358 40 967 8820, http://www.purnu.fi/english/
The Art Centre Leporanta, Vinkiäntie 745, Längelmäki. 2017 open 24 June – 6 August Tue–Sun, noon till 6 pm. Groups on request, tel. +358 40 582 8504, www.leporannantaidekeskus.net (in Finnish)
The Orivesi library, Keskustie 23. Changing exhibitions year-round.